Award Opportunities

A number of national and provincial awards exist to recognize environmental stewardship within the Canadian health services sector. Click on the links provided below to learn more about how you or your organisation can participate in awards programmes and be recognized for your commitment to sustainable health care.

The Coalition is proud of its longstanding partnership with the Ontario Hospital Association through HealthAchieve to bring the Green Heath Care Awards to Ontario and are anxious to work with interested organisations/associations in other provinces to develop similar award programmes throughout Canada.

We are also working on the development of a National Green Health Care Awards Programme.  If you have ideas to contribute or are interested in sponsorship opportunities, please contact Linda at


Canadian Coalition for Green Health Care/Ontario Hospital Association Green Health Care Awards

The Green Health Care Awards recognize hospitals and individuals who demonstrate leadership and excellence in reducing health care’s environmental impact. Awards will be granted for outstanding achievements in five categories:

  • Energy Efficiency
  • Pollution Prevention
  • Overall Leadership
  • Waste Management
  • Individual Leadership

Greening Health Care Awards

The Toronto and Region Conservation Authority's Greening Health Care Program offers two major awards annually, open to all members of their program:

  • 5% Awards – recognition for member hospitals that achieve 5% in energy and or water savings in a given year
  • The GHC Leadership Award – recognizing one health care organization that has been a sector leader in energy and water efficiency over multiple years.

Ontario Waste Minimization Awards

The Ontario Waste Minimization Awards, presented by the Recycling Council of Ontario, are a tribute to excellence within the province and play a pivotal role in Ontario’s quest for continuous improvement and higher diversion rates. The program supports participants by encouraging them to examine their waste management practices, set goals to reduce wastes and quantify results, both with respect to waste diversion and economic savings.


Canadian Healthcare Engineering Society (CHES) Hans Burgers Award for Outstanding Contribution to Healthcare Engineering

CHES is inviting members to nominate colleagues for this prestigious CHES award. The award is presented to a resident of Canada as a mark of recognition of outstanding achievement in the field of health care engineering. Candidates must be members of CHES and the achievements can be either a series of contributions or one outstanding contribution.

Wayne McLellan Award of Excellence (Sponsored by Honeywell)

This award is in recognition of a hospital or long-term care facility that has demonstrated outstanding success in completion of a major capital project, energy efficiency program, environmental stewardship program, or team building exercise. Members are invited to nominate a facility that is eligible.

Energy and Environmental Stewardship Award

The Energy and Environmental Stewardship Award, courtesy the Canadian College of Health Leaders and Honeywell, recognizes a progressive health care organization that has implemented programs that demonstrate environmental responsibility through the reduction of energy usage, the preservation of natural resources and effective waste diversion solutions. Possible programs include the implementation of energy efficient building systems and solutions, comprehensive energy and environmental awareness programs, waste management initiatives, and green procurement practices.

Canada's Greenest Employer

Launched in 2007, the Canada's Greenest Employers competition is organized by the editors of the Canada's Top 100 Employers project. This special designation recognizes the employers that lead the nation in creating a culture of environmental awareness in their organizations. These employers have developed exceptional earth-friendly initiatives -- and are attracting people to their organizations because of their environmental leadership.

Canadian Award for Environmental Innovation

The Canadian Award for Environmental Innovation was established in 2009 by The Royal Canadian Geographical Society and 3M Canada to recognize outstanding individuals in business, government, academia or community organizations whose innovative contributions to environmental change are benefiting Canada and Canadians. The Award seeks to celebrate individuals involved in a local, regional or national project, program or initiative that has provided innovative solutions that protect, restore or preserve the environment.

EcoLogo Environmental Stewardship Award

Founded in 1988 by the Government of Canada, EcoLogo is one of North America’s most respected and established environmental standard and certification mark. The EcoLogo Program's Environmental Stewardship Award is presented to organizations in recognition of their environmentally friendly actions. In 2010, St. Mary's Hospital Center in Montréal became the first hospital in Canada to receive the Environmental Stewardship Award.

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Environmental Leadership Award by ARAMARK Healthcare Canada

The Nova Scotia Environmental Leadership Award Presented by the Health Association of Nova Scotia in partnership with ARAMARK Healthcare Canada, recognizes a Nova Scotia organization that has made a significant effort to improve the environment through team- and community-based initiatives which include but are not limited to: projects, policies and or advocacy in their organizations or communities.For award details contact Paul Higgins at 902-468-8685 or


Canadian Coalition for Green Health Care © 2014

The Canadian Coalition for Green Health Care gratefully acknowledges the financial support of the Ontario Trillium Foundation, as well as the support of our partners.

The Ontario Trillium Foundation is an agency of the
Government of Ontario. La Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario
est un organisme du gouvernement de l'Ontario.